11 States Into Wheat Production – Gov Bagudu


In line with the federal government ‘s directive on self sufficiency on rice and wheat, governor of Kebbi State, Atiku Bagudu has said compared to last year, 11 states have now joined in wheat production.

‎The governor spoke to State House Correspondents after the acting President Yemi Osinbajo, on Monday met with the Presidential Task Force on Rice and Wheat‎ Production, to review factors mitigating against self-sufficiency.

Recall that the was inaugurated last year June by the federal government to make Nigeria self sufficient in rice and wheat and step up current efforts to produce those commodities in the country.

Bagugu said the meeting reviewed the rice and wheat programme, noting that compared to last year where only five states went into wheat production, 11 states have joined this year.

Governor of Kebbi State, Atiku Bagudu

“This is the meeting of Presidential Task Force on Rice and wheat and we reviewed the wheat programme and what we can do more to support states in order to increase production of wheat. And to ensure that our farmers who have responded to the call are supported in terms of getting good price for their output in order to sustain their interests.

“We reviewed where we are with rice production, the Acting President noted with satisfaction all the efforts by different stakeholders to attain sufficiency in the shortest possible time.

“The Acting President assured the meeting that the Federal Government will continue to support the drive towards self sufficiency in food security. He said the government out of necessity will support the farmers, the millers and other stakeholders involved in the value change‎”.

On claims that Nigeria was now the second largest producer of rice in the world, he said ;”I don’t have that data but I know that our farmers have responded and all parts of Nigeria, about 32 states have steak of increased production”.

On where Nigeria was in terms of wheat production currently, Bagudu said, “I think we have done very well, we have remarkable increase in the number of states that have produced wheat from the last season. Last season we had about five states but today we are hearing reports from about 11 states‎ and the increase in output per state is quite significant as well. So we believe that with sustained trajectory that we are seeing we will be able to achieve our self sufficiency”, he said.

Those in attendance were the state governors of Ebonyi, Dave Umahi, Kano, Abdullahi Ganduje, Kebbi, Abubakar Bagudu and Jigawa, Badaru Abubakar.

The M‎inisters of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Audu Ogbeh and Finance, Kemi Adeosun as well as the Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Godwin Emiefele were also in attendance.

Other members of the Task Force are ‎the President of Wheat Farmers Association and President of the Rice Farmers Association.

Share your story with us: +2348135229228 (call and SMS only) Email: [email protected],Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348135229228DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organization's stand or views on issues.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.